The 5 Love Languages: What They Are & How To Use Them

The 5 Love Languages: What They Are & How To Use Them

Love is in the air! Whether it’s with your significant other, a friend, or a family member, showing love during this time of year is especially meaningful. In case you didn’t know, there are five different love languages, which include: quality time, gifts (giving & receiving), physical touch, acts of service, and words of affirmation. Knowing someone’s love language can strengthen any relationship and allow you to show affection in the way they will feel most appreciated.

A pie chart depicting the 5 love languages 

Image via Google Images

There are many ways to discover what your top love languages are. The easiest way is to take a free online test. In these tests, there are a series of questions that ask “this or that” scenarios to define your top love languages. After the test, you get the results in a ranked order. There are many free tests out there, but the one I use is linked here!

Now that we know how to discover our own and other’s love languages, we can use this knowledge to our advantage toward strengthening our relationships. What better time to discover someone’s love language than to tie it into their gift for Valentine’s Day!

A cartoon image of a girl holding a flower with 5 hearts representing the 5 love languages around it.

Image via VeryWell Mind

Quality Time

Someone whose top love language is quality time wants your undivided attention. Simply put, spending time with that person, free of distractions, will show them how much you care for their presence. Additionally, making eye contact and actively listening are the key ways to show your love for this person.

Valentine’s Day Gift Idea: Plan out a day to spend time with this person. This can include their favorite activities or making them their favorite dish. Setting up some time to enjoy each other’s company is a great way to show them you care.


Gifts (giving & receiving)

When it comes to gifts as a love language, this person feels most appreciated when giving or receiving something from their loved one. They admire someone going out of their way to get them something special, especially when it’s something the person has mentioned they liked.

Valentine’s Day Gift Idea: Gifting something special and personalized is the way to go. It could be something they mentioned liking, or something you saw at the store that reminded you of them. A framed photo would be the perfect gift, because to them it’s the thought that counts!


Physical Touch

People who enjoy physical touch feel most loved when they are physically near a loved one. They love hugs, kisses, holding hands, and any form of physical touch.

Valentine’s Day Gift Idea: Anything that allows you to be close with that person, a simple hug or a night in cuddling on the couch while watching a movie can show you how much you care. Before engaging in any physical touch, be sure to gain active and explicit consent from the other party.


Acts of Service

Someone who appreciates acts of service will notice and appreciate the little things you do for them. In turn, they will perform acts of service and kindness for others.

Valentine’s Day Gift Idea: Help them run errands, put gas in the car, or any other small acts that make their life easier will show your affection towards them.


Words of Affirmation

People who value words of affirmation love to be complimented and enjoy kind, encouraging words. Some simple ways to do this is by thanking them or telling them how glad you are to have them in your life.

Valentine’s Day Gift Idea: Ideal gifts for them include love notes and/or cute text messages. Send them a thoughtful message, a handwritten card, or compile reasons why you love them into a meaningful craft they can keep forever.

Two hearts in text bubbles

Image via iStock

Will you be using any of the ideas mentioned above to pick out the perfect Valentine’s Day gift this year? What is your love language? Let us know by tagging @ ASICPP on Instagram, Twitter, & Facebook!